Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Leviticus Lessons: Offerings I

Good Afternoon Family and Happy Hump Day.

I hope that you all are doing well today.  We've made it to Wednesday so it's all downhill from here until Friday!  Today, I wish to start a topic which I probably will have to break into different days, so lets get started.

If you have read through the book of Leviticus, you would have passed over the verses discussing the various types offerings.  In it, the Lord gives Moses clear instructions on how to perform each particular offering. As a matter of fact the first 7 Chapters of Leviticus are spent explaining how to carry out the different offerings.

Today, we will do a brief introduction of the different kinds of offerings and later, we'll go more into details.  They are as follows:
  1. Burnt Offering (Leviticus 1)
  2. The Meat Offering (depending on the versions, you may find it called the Cereal or Grain offering) (Leviticus 2)
  3. Peace Offering (also may be referred to as the Fellowship Offering) (Leviticus 3)
  4. Sin Offering (Leviticus 4, 5:1-13, 6:24-30)
  5. Trespass Offering (also may be referred to as the Guilt Offering) (Leviticus 5:14-19,6:1-7)
  6. Consecration Offering (Leviticus 8)
"These, then, are the regulations for the burnt offering, the grain offering, the sin offering, the guilt offering, the ordination offering and the fellowship offering..." (Lev. 7:37).  So there are a total of 6 types of offerings, but from my research thus far, it is referenced to be only 5 offerings.  The 6th offering is a special offering done for the consecration of priests which did not involve the individual Israelites.

We'll look more into this over time and it is my prayer that when this is all done, we can learn how God set up His protective umbrella for Israel and how Jesus fits into the grand scheme of things.

Be blessed folks and have a good rest of the week.

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Archive